Rural Opportunity Zone (ROZ)

Rural Opportunity Zone Program

New legislation passed by Kansas Legislature (Kansas Senate Bill No. 198) and signed by Governor Sam Brownback designated 50 Kansas counties as Rural Opportunity Zones effect July 1. 

Beginning with the 2011 tax year, individuals who return from five years or more out-of-state to establish residency in one of the 50 ROZ counties can receive a tax credit against their Kansas income tax for up to five consecutive years.  The second incentive is a joint effort with the ROZ counties to allow for repayment of a portion of a student loans. 

On May 31, 2011 Kingman County Commissioners made history by becoming the first Kansas county to sign a ROZ resolution.  The commissioners signed Kingman County Resolution 2011-47 authorizing participation in the student loan repayment program. This resolution will match payments with the State of Kansas up to $3,000 per year, and a maximum of $15,000 per participant over a 5-year period.

For more information regarding this program, see the following website: